Support Public Service Journalism

NFIB: 44 Washington Legislators Named Guardians of Small Business

The state’s leading small-business association today named its Guardians of Small Business winners.

Ask every member of the Washington State Legislature if he or she is a friend of small business, and you will get 147 yesses,” said Patrick Connor, Washington state director for NFIB, the nation’s leading small-business association. “Watch them when it comes time to prove it, and you’ll find 44 whose actions matched their words.”

As it does after every session, NFIB Washington tallies the votes taken on issues vital to small-business survival. Following the 2019-2020 session, lawmakers were graded on votes taken on 11 issues, nine of which were voted on in both chambers. A brief description of the 11 issues and each legislator’s vote on them can be found in the NFIB Voting Record.

The Leadership Council of NFIB Washington set a 90-percent, pro-small-business voting threshold for earning a Guardian award. On behalf of the Main Street, mom-and-pop enterprises who will lead the post-coronavirus national economic recovery, NFIB Washington thanks the following senators and representatives.



  • Sharon Brown (Kennewick)
  • Ann Rivers (La Center)
  • Judy Warnick (Moses Lake)
  • Lynda Wilson (Vancouver)


  • Brad Hawkins (East Wenatchee)
  • Jeff Holy (Spokane)
  • Jim Honeyford (Sunnyside)
  • Steve O’Ban (Pierce County)
  • Mark Schoesler (Ritzville)
  • Shelly Short (Addy)
  • Keith Wagoner (Sedro-Woolley)



  • Andrew Barkis (Olympia)
  • Matt Boehnke (Kennewick)
  • Bruce Chandler (Granger)
  • Richard DeBolt (Chehalis)
  • Tom Dent (Moses Lake)
  • Jeremie Dufault (Selah)
  • Mary Dye (Pomeroy)
  • Carolyn Eslick (Sultan)
  • Keith Goehner (Dryden)
  • Paul Harris (Vancouver)
  • Morgan Irwin (Enumclaw)
  • Brad Klippert (Kennewick)
  • Joel Kretz (Wauconda)
  • Jacquelin Maycumber (Republic)
  • Ed Orcutt (Kalama)
  • Skyler Rude (Walla Walla)
  • Joe Schmick (Colfax)
  • Norma Smith (Clinton)
  • Mike Steele (Chelan)
  • J.T. Wilcox (Yelm)
  • Alex Ybarra (Quincy)
  • Jesse Young (Gig Harbor)


  • Chris Gildon (Puyallup)
  • Jenny Graham (Spokane)
  • Dan Griffey (Allyn)
  • Bill Jenkin (Prosser)
  • Vicki Kraft (Vancouver)
  • Gina Mosbrucker (Goldendale)
  • Drew Stokesbary (Auburn)
  • Robert Sutherland (Granite Falls)
  • Luanne Van Werven (Lynden)
  • Brandon Vick (Vancouver)
  • Mike Volz (Spokane)

This press release was provided by the National Federation of Independent Business

Your support matters.

Public service journalism is important today as ever. If you get something from our coverage, please consider making a donation to support our work. Thanks for reading our stuff.